“Jose Aldo. He’s a good kid.”

For the most part, my friends who aren’t UFC fans have tolerated my love for mixed martial arts, with the exception of Azaria.

From 2011-2012, Azaria had been the Eagle Life editor of The Easterner and an intern for the Pacific Northwest Inlander. She currently writes for the Seattle Weekly and the Spokesman Reivew. I like to think that her passion for music matches the passion I have for mixed martial arts, and she is also one of the sweetest people on the planet.

Still, when I would mention UFC at the office, watch highlight videos while doing layout or talk about any of the fights I had seen that weekend, she would have this repulsed look on her face, then shake her head and say “They should have given them puppies.”

That was her solution for everything. When Frankie Edgar and Gray Maynard fought in the third match of their trilogy, Azaria suggested Dana White give them puppies. When the “Korean Zombie” Chan Sing Jung submitted Dustin “The Diamond” Poirier with a D’arce choke, she said they both “needed puppies.”

When Ronda Rousey and Miesha Tat started their feud, Azaria said to give them puppies. When I told her they already had dogs, she said they “obviously needed more.”

Azaria didn’t like MMA, which I understand. Still, there was one time when she surprised me.

I had finished some edits on my page when I was watching a video of WEC Featherweight champion Jose Aldo walking to the cage to face Urijah Faber, the sound of Jay Z’s “Run This Town” echoing through the speakers. It’s one of my favorite entrances.

As I was watching, I sensed someone standing behind me. When I glanced back, I saw Azaria looking at the screen, her eyes transfixed as Aldo entered the cage. I waited for the tongue lashing, but she remained silent. When she asked who he was, I did what any good MMA fan would do and I told her some tidbits about the featherweight champion.

I told her about how Aldo was a son of a brick layer. I told her about when he was a kid, he would go to a gym and the trainers would feed him if he did not have anything to eat. I told her about his battles with Faber, Mark Hominick and Kenny Florian.

Did I make a fan out of her? Heavens no, but from that day forward, she referred to Aldo as a “good kid.” One of the “presents” I have her before she graduated was a black and white picture of Aldo with his UFC belt, which wasn’t as bad as the time I changed her wallpaper on her computer to a picture of Chuck Liddell.

Still, even if she is not a fan of the sport, she knows that Aldo is a “good kid.”

Though she still thinks he needs a puppy.

Leave a Reply

