“Klitschko” and “The Boxing Girls of Kabul”

After watching the Mayweather vs. Canelo fight card, I decided to clean up my Netflix queue and watch a couple of boxing documentaries.

The first documentary was titled “Klitschko” and it was centered around Wladimir and Vitali Klitschko. Like many documentaries, the film looks into the brothers’ past and leads into their careers. There are also interviews other members of the Klitschko family, as well as fighters who had stepped into the ring with Wladimir and Vitali.

The second movie I watched was “The Boxing Girls of Kabul.” This documentary looked at the lives of three girls as they trained for the 2012 London Olympics. Not only does it look at the fighters, but also the lives outside of the gym and the life of their trainer. It was interesting to see these gals train at the Ghazi Stadium, which had been a place of death at one time.

Despite only averaging 3.5 stars on Netflix, I enjoyed it. My only complaint would be the length as it is only 52 minutes.

If you have three hours to kill and need something to watch on Netflix, I suggest both of these titles.

 

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.
This entry was posted in Boxing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

