Interviewing and reporting on combat sports

In an effort to expand my horizons in combat sports beyond MMA and wrestling, I have been making an effort to watch and report some boxing, kickboxing and other combat sports whenever I can.

I interviewed Bellator fighters Ben Saunders and Douglas Lima yesterday and while it was great, I learned that reporters ask fighters a lot of the same questions. There are the standard questions to promote an upcoming fight (what is your strategy, what can fans expect, etc) but then some reporters like to ask about a fighter’s past organizations and rivals, which I think is like going on a date with someone and asking them about their past loves.

I know I’ve put this out there before, but I also want to start doing interviews with not just MMA fighters, but also wrestlers (professional and olympic), boxers, kickboxers and others. These would be standard email Q & A’s, over the phone and Skype. Heck, I’ll even even do interviews by text and chats (Facebook, AIM, etc).

So if you know anyone who would like to do an interview, even if it’s for a short amount of time, send me their information at alstovermma@gmail.com

I also want to do stuff for fans as well, so many do something like a predictions panel or just shootin’ the sh*t about what you love about MMA, boxing, wrestling, similar to a question of the day. This could be done with a survey, but surveys don’t really give the “why” to an answer unless someone leaves it in the “comments/other” section.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

