Jessamyn Duke – level 91 warlock

Some people might say that my New Year’s Eve was boring. But the way I look at it, it was one of the best Dec. 31-celebrations I’ve had in a long time.

I had no real plans other than go to the local bars and knock a few back. Then I saw Mable Duke – mother to UFC fighter Jessamyn “The Gun” Duke – advertise her daughter’s Major League Gaming debut. Jessamyn was going to kick off the new year with a “World of Warcraft” marathon.

I’ve said this before but I am a huge WoW. I’ve played the games, read the books and I’ll probably go see the movie. As someone who has written and read fantasy for a long time, Warcraft is different than most sword and sorcery worlds. I also watch video game playthroughs and gamers attempting to beat horror games like “Slender” and “Five Nights at Freddy’s.”

Watching Jessamyn play gave me a chance to check out the “Warlords of Draenor” expansion. So I watched as Tazdingo (Jessamyn’s character), a troll warlock, traversed through a Draenor that had not been ravaged and go up against a Horde that wasn’t created from the Burning Legion’s influence, but forged by iron.

Playing a warlock was a first for the UFC fighter, but I thought she did fine – though I’m not the authority when it comes to playing character classes. I got to see Thrall, who Tazdingo had to find at some point. I love the character of Thrall, but it seems like there’s always a quest where you have to find him or rescue him.

I also got a chance to interact with some UFC and WoW fans in the chat room. There was even a cameo from the “Queen of Spades” Shayna Baszler, who was hilarious.

Jokes aside it was interesting to see a fighter take off the gloves – or in Jessamyn’s case, put on the cloth armor – and give fans a glimpse of life outside of the cage. Most of the time we only see fighters training, preparing for a bout or making the media rounds. We don’t get a chance to see these athletes as regular people, so this experience was pretty cool. At least it was for me and I got a new nickname out it: Al the Bard.

Needless to say I’ll be popping up when Jessamyn has her streams in the future.

And if you want to watch Jessamyn tear it up in Azeroth or other gaming worlds, follow the link.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.
This entry was posted in Mixed martial arts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

