Fight Theater: Gina Begley vs. Ashley Rickard

I kind of wanted to get something off of my chest. As I look back on 2014, one of the highlights was seeing MMA fighter and fellow Bat-fan and writer Gina Begley beat Ashley Rickard back in September.

Gina showed some good striking and clinch work while taking some good shots.

I don’t know Gina personally. We haven’t met – though if we did, I’m sure our conversations would mostly consist of Batman and MMA. That said I was proud to see her hard work pay off in the form of a victory. Gina works hard, is a single mom and an instructor. The words “hero” and “inspiration” get thrown around a lot in combat sports but it’s fighters like Gina, who are already playing some of the most important roles in life – parent and teacher – and they still find the time to improve their craft. And that’s what Gina is: a hero and an inspiration. The more dedication she puts into life and her training, the more she’ll succeed. To be honest Gina is the type of athlete I enjoy writing about in any sport – MMA, boxing, football or swimming.

Caution the video itself has some upside down angles but it gets up close.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.
This entry was posted in Mixed martial arts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

