Bridgewater wins Pepsi Rookie of the Year

I got a nice email this morning regarding Minnesota Vikings rookie quarterback Teddy Bridgewater.

Bridgewater was named the “Pepsi Rookie of the Year.” According to the email, Bridgewater was the quarterback among the five nominees. He went on to thank the fans for their support.

“This award means a lot to me. I’m glad to have the fan base that I have,” Bridgewater said. “They’re the reason I was even in consideration for this award. To be able to play the game is one thing, but to also have fan base is another and I’m very appreciative for that. Playing in The Bank this year – TCF Bank Stadium – hearing those fans chant my name, that was an amazing feeling. Also being able to go out and live out my dream, be able to complete my first season in the NFL was always a childhood dream of mine, so everything paid off.”

As a Vikings fan – especially one living in Washington state – I couldn’t be happier for the guy. I knew when the team picked him up in the draft they had something special. He had start for the season – passing for less than 3,000 yards and only 14 touchdowns – but there’s time to improve. I can’t wait to see what he does for the Vikings next year.

Leave a Reply

