Mayweather vs. Pacquiao is a reality

As soon as I saw the announcement I had to look outside to see if Hell had indeed frozen over. Then I pinched myself to make sure I wasn’t dreaming.

No Hell had not taken over and I was still at the office but the announcement was true. Floyd Mayweather, the undefeated champion who many consider the greatest boxer on the planet has signed on to take on Manny Pacquiao, the other greatest fighter on the planet, May 2.

I’ve kind of touched on this in the past but overall I’m pretty excited. It’s a fight that fans have been aching for. Sure some folks may think this fight should have taken place years ago when both men were in their prime but this might be the right time. Mayweather is looking to retire – for the second time – and he’s faced every challenge that’s gone up against him except for Pacquaio.

I’ll probably have more on this later but the next few months should be interesting.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

