Dear UFC: Give Jessica Eye a fight

Since I’ve watched a lot of fans demand that the UFC give their favorite fighters a fight, I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon and start making demands of my own.

This one is simple. UFC give Jessica “Evil” Eye a fight and do it soon. I feel like the UFC should listen to my demands because while the matchmakers there have had years of experience in the business and are the best at what they do, I – as many fans do I’m sure – could do a better job. Believe it or not I do have some matchmaking experience. I was responsible for hooking up two of my friends in middle school – which ended in complete disaster.

But this isn’t me we’re talking about. I’m talking about giving Eye a match. Fans haven’t seen her compete since her fists partially tore Leslie Smith’s ear off her head – an image that hundreds of folks shared across the web, disregarding how many meals were lost.

Normally in these type of articles I would talk about Eye’s various accomplishments, including regional championships and victories over notable names. I could talk about her power – again the image of Smith’s ear is in my brain – or how tough she is. Eye has only been submitted once in her career – submission loss to Aisling Daly – and has stood toe-to-toe against some dangerous fighters and went the distance with them.

Eye has been a tremendous face for the company. Sure she’s not actively calling out other opponents – but she doesn’t say “No” when reporters offer her a prospective match – nor does she go on social media and complain about the opportunities and spoils she feels she deserves. She’s not playing with the Twitter trolls who harass her. Instead she holds classes and signs autographs for fans – something she’s doing prior to UFC 184.

Never mind that she posts inspirational quotes on Facebook or cute videos of her cat, a nice break from other competitors who put up images of texts they receive from their stalkers – again kids it’s not fun to feed the trolls.

I normally do not make these kind of demands but it seems like folks for some reason are more willing to respond to negativity than positive – except for Eye who reacts more to the good stuff than the bad.

Here are some of my other demands
I think the upcoming drug testing is great, except can you exempt my favorite fighters from having to participate in giving urine samples. I will send a list in a separate letter.
Could you force Reebok to sign my favorite fighters to non-UFC contracts. I know they are their own company but I’m sure you have some stroke.
When I am on Twitter (@alstover) and I send one of your fighters a tweet can you make them respond to me. Also follow on Twitter.

The point is that Eye is a great competitor and I – along with the Eye Nation – would like to see her return to the octagon very soon.

Leave a Reply

