Alman on Fastlane

I just got done watching WWE Fastlane. It wasn’t great but it wasn’t too bad. It set up for Wrestlemania, which is what these events are supposed to do.

The two non-wrestling segments were intriguing. Triple H and Sting had a good encounter that set up their match. Bray Wyatt’s entrance via the casket and the Undertaker was a good way to usher people into that storyline. Ever since Wyatt made his debut, I knew he and the Deadman were going to cross paths.

Some of the mid-card matches were good but the endings left me feeling like we’d see them again – particularly with Dean Ambrose vs. Wade Barrett. I like this feud and I like that Ambrose walked out with the IC belt – sorry championship. I’m a believer that the Intercontinental championship should always be defended at Wrestlemania.

We’ll probably see Randy Orton take on Seth Rollins.

It was cool to see Tyson Kidd and Cesaro win the tag team titles. Rusev got a nice rub from John Cena in their match. And I know some cats are thinking “Rusev had to low blow Cena to set up for the finish. He should win cleanly.” Maybe, but Rusev is a heel and heels are cheaters. How many times did Ric Flair low blow a babyface to cheat to win his match.

Roman Reigns vs. Daniel Bryan was the match of the night and it needed to be. Reigns had to put on a good performance to win the crowd over. Will we see another #CancelWWENetwork hastag? Probably from a small number but I liked Reigns going over. I like Bryan too but he’s had his Wrestlemania moment.

Again Fastlane wasn’t the greatest event in the world but I’m already looking forward to Wrestlemania.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.
This entry was posted in Wrestling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

