West Plains Little League off to state

WPLL 3

This morning I got to watch the West Plains Little League All Stars off to the state championships this weekend.

Cheney was originally supposed to host the state tournament but miscommunication resulted in the tourney being moved to another part of the state. Meanwhile the All Stars won the District 15 tournament. All that stood in their way of going was $7,000 to pay for travel, hotel and other expenses. Last Saturday I went to Monterey Pub and Grub where they had a raffle for the team. I shelled out as much as I could to help – and I walked away with a couple of T-shirts.

Fortunately the team was able to raise the money due to an outpouring of support form the community.

I didn’t cover much little league, outside of the one game where I took some of my best photos of my career and watched one of the most competitive contests in my life.

Fast forward to now, it was nice to stand in Salnave Park, waiting for the send off. Parents decked their cars – and each other – West Plains stickers, shirts and swag. Most of the players were running off some excess energy playing football. I heard a couple of “don’t hurt yourselves,” from a couple of concerned parents. I understand parents wanting to keep their kids healthy, but kids are resilient. They’ll scrape a knee or get a bruise on their arm and be OK.

With all of the negative stuff going on, it’s nice to be a part of something like this. I won’t get into details just Google “Airway Heights” and you’ll get the basic idea. That’s one of the things I love about sports. Yeah there’s politics and negativity but it’s the most honest journalism.

And it rewards the hard work these kids are being rewarded for the hard work they put in the spring and the summer.

Leave a Reply

