Alman on his first CHS football game

helmet

There are times when I’ll doubt that what I am doing is the intended path for me but then God (or if you believe something else, insert it right here) will prove me otherwise.

I had one of those moments on Friday night after I watched the Cheney High football team defeat the Colville Indians, 28-0. It was Cheney’s first game of the 2014 season and a chance to gain some vengeance from last year. For me, it was the first high school football game I covered since the last Wolf Point High School game back in 2013.

On Aug. 31, me editor told me I would cover Cheney football, a gig he coveted last year. It’s a part of the shuffle we are doing at the Free Pres. It also gives me a chance to cover the most important sport in the community. Volleyball, girls’ soccer and swimming are important, but football is king when it comes to prep sports. Covering high school football also gives me another club to add to my sports coverage.

While the team didn’t perform well, the Wolf Point football team was the most important thing happening on Friday nights. The entire community came out to watch the Wolves as they took on fellow schools from Northeast Montana.

Although the entire city of Cheney didn’t come out to watch the Blackhawks, the whole school did. Fans watched as running backs Ty Graham and Brayden Butikofer scored touchdowns. At the game, I met some of the administration working at the school and reconnected with some friends I went to school with.

All in all, Cheney put on an impressive performance in their first game and hopefully that continues through out the season.

About Al Stover

I graduated from Eastern Washington University with a bachelor's degree in journalism. I currently work as a Staff Reporter for the Cheney Free Press. I have interviewed characters like cage fighters, drag queens and dungeon masters. I like Batman, coffee, MMA and beer.
This entry was posted in Football and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

