How I learned to love the Mets

In my line of work, it’s always hard to hate on other sports teams or plays unless they do something despicable – I’m looking at you Tom Brady and the New England Patriots.

On Friday I went to the Lantern Taphouse to watch the New York Mets take on the Los Angeles Dodgers in game 1 of the National League Division Series.

Being a Mariners fan this year, I didn’t see many big or enjoyable moments. But for Jasmine, whose love for the New Mets knows no bounds, 2015 was an outstanding year. She told me she’s been a Mets fan since 2009 and has gone through the “darkest days” in the team’s history.

While Jasmine and I talked during the night about our usual geek stuff like Pokemon – her X party would destroy my Y party – and “Star Trek,” she’d tell me about the different players on the team. She lamented on Jacob deGrom and his majestic hair, the dedication of David Wright, who is the captain and the godliness of Noah Syndergaard a.k.a. Thor. We also talked about how great Yoenis Céspedes is.

I’ve told Jasmine this, but I love her passion for this team and attention to the game. Seeing that love for this team makes me want to be a part of the fanbase. The Mets are lovable losers, kind of like my Minnesota Vikings. She’s has inspired me to be a better sports fan.

I’ll still cheer the Mariners next season and write about them in the Crunch Time column. It’s just I’ll be rooting for another team that starts with “M.”

There’s no way I would consider myself as big of a fan as Jasmine – not for another six year anyways – but I think now is a good time as ever to start.

Leave a Reply

