Alman on Wrestlemania and more

Another Wrestlemania is behind us folks. There’s a lot to say about it and I could dissect every match but I’ll try to make this short and sweet. I think the best way to describe this year’s Wrestlemanai is to compare to “Batman v. Superman.”

A lot of critics crapped on Wrestlemania, just like movie critics crapped on BvS. But like BvS, Wrestlemania had a lot of good moments.

Perhaps the biggest shift was in the women’s division. You saw the terms “Divas” get retired and the women’s title was ushered in. And it wasn’t just a shiny new belt, the women are being put on a pedestal. From now on they’ll be referred to as Superstars. Tomorrow the WWE world heavyweight champion and the women’s champion will be interviewed. I think next year we could see the women’s title in the main event – Charlotte vs. Sasha Banks I hope.

Speaking of that match, Charlotte v. Sasha Banks v. Becky Lynch stole the show. It got the big match treatment with cool entrances, a lengthy time to tell the story and an ending with the pyro. There were some botches, but these three tore the house down.

I think most folks would agree the main event was a bit lackluster – but who didn’t think Roman was going to win the title. It wasn’t a horrible match, but people weren’t buying into Roman and – like BvS – the show was too long. There were other things too that made me go “really?” Dean Ambrose v. Brock Lesnar could have been longer – really that was it.

But there were other bright spots throughout the evening. Zack Ryder winning the IC title, Baron Corbin winning the Andre the Giant Battle Royal, A.J. Styles and Chris Jericho had a good match.

I’m sure there are a lot of people who are pissed off because “WWE didn’t give me what I want.” If you are, then I’m sorry. I enjoyed the show and I can’t wait for next year. And if you want to cancel the WWE Network go for it. But if you are thinking of getting rid of your merchandise, shoot me a message, I’ll take good care of it.


Photo via Twitter

Here are some random thoughts about Wrestlemania

Zack Ryder wins IC title
Some folks were unhappy with how the IC title bout turned out, but I was excited to see Zack Ryder get this Wrestlemania moment and come away with the gold. Ryder is someone who folks have been advocating for, yet when he gets a push the same people are like “well that’s enough.” But he did it. He got his Wrestlemania moment. And of course he got to share it with his father, which is icing on the cake.

Baron Corbin takes home Andre the Giant trophy
NXT has had quite the weekend. A great NXT Takeover event, many alumni had their Wrestlemania moments – those in the IC title match, the New Day, the triple threat match, Roman winning the belt – and Baron Corbin winning the Andre the Giant Battle Royal.


Stephanie McMahon went beyond Thunderdome for her husband’s entrance. I was waiting for her to belt out “We don’t need another hero.”

Leave a Reply

