UFC 200 gets Nate Diaz v. Conor McGregor, Frankie Edgar vs. Jose Aldo rematches

Just some thoughts I had on the recently announced rematch between Conor McGregor and Nate Diaz

Well fight fans the UFC announced that the rematch between Nate Diaz and UFC featherweight champion Conor McGregor in a welterweight match. The two squared off at UFC 196 where Diaz submitted the Irish champion in the second round.

This makes sense from a business standpoint. It helped generate the best pay per view revenue for the UFC. That said, I still feel like this is too soon. Everyone knows the UFC gives McGregor special treatment and this is a chance for him to avenge the worst loss in his career.

I’m not so much against the match, I just wish it wasn’t the main event. You’ve got an interim featherweight title match between Jose Aldo and Frankie Edgar which should have top billing.

But I’m not running the UFC so it’s not my call.

That said, I do like that Aldo and Edgar are squaring off to see and there’s a title on the line. I know some people don’t like the idea of interim titles. Personally I think they’re great in the right situation, specifically if a fighter cannot defend their belt due to injury or they don’t want to. Critics could say the UFC is throwing a bone at Aldo and Edgar who are no doubt displeased at not getting a crack at McGregor – right away. UFC president Dana White said the winner of that fight faces McGregor to unify the titles.

I was also a fan of the first Edgar and Aldo fight so this could be a good one.

The rest of the card looks pretty solid, I’ll probably have more thoughts on those bouts in the weeks to come.

Leave a Reply

